supported by:
Vigil Logo


226 Pecan Street
Deland FL 32724
tel: (386) 801-0804

© 2003 - 2020
All Rights Reserved

supported by:
In Time Scoring

Valid HTML Valid CSS!

Did You Know...

... that Roy Janssen explained the Weembi situation live on NSL-TV?

HayaBusa 4-way world champion of 2014: Roy Janssen
image by: Vania da Rui
posted Jan 24th, 2017 - Weembi's signature lineup with three 4-way world champions of 2010 (Julien Degen, Mathieu and Guillaume Bernier) and one of 2014 (Roy Janssen) has caught the Sun Path Products NSL News attention several times in the past, and the upcoming indoor events (Wind Games, French Indoor Nationals, World Challenge) are sparking even more interest.

All three events will feature the 4-way showdown between the reigning world champions from Belgium (NMP PCH HayaBusa) and the challengers from France (Weembi). Unfortunately, Arizona Airspeed will follow all three events only from the distance before taking action at the Shamrock Showdown 2017.

The Weembi lineup alone can fill pages with information and stories, and the combination with HayaBusa provides an unlimited amount of topics.

Today's update zooms in once again on the Weembi lineup, and it includes the video of a live NSL Talk interview with Weembi’s inside center Roy Janssen, who is an original HayaBusa member and won the first gold medal for Belgium with the team in Prostejov 2014.

FAI Mondial 2012
Rank4-way Open5,12,E6,D,B,KO,8,7N,13,1810,21,M19,H,11C,G,1,A20,9,1516,F,P,Q2,J,4TotalAvg
1Arizona AirspeedUS2734272223233225402627927.9
2NMP-PCH HayabusaBE2534272123243227402527827.8
3Aerodyne AerokartFR2630272123252923372426526.5
NMP PCH HayaBusa lineup in Prostejov 2014
Weembi's lineup is unique in many ways. It was probably the first time in the history of the sport that a newly formed 4-way team consisted of four world champions when the current Weembi members came together at the Clash of Champions 2015.

The name of the event truly reflected the nature of the teams in the first three places. It was the first time that HayaBusa world champion Roy Janssen competed against his three former world champion team mates (Dennis Praet, David and Andy Grauwels) – in a new slot and with three other former 4-way world champions from France in his own Weembi lineup, also inluding two brothers (Mathieu and Guillaume Bernier).

On top of that, two more 4-way world champions of 2012 (Niklas Hemlin, Thomas Hughes) competed with Arizona Airspeed at the same event.

Clash of Champions 2015
RankAAA ClassJ,13,8K,20,59,21,19C,3,67,O,15A,18,12,H,P,D16,L,11E,N,10,B12,Q,F,22TotalAvg
1NMP-PCH HayabusaBE2632302833294128372931331.3
2Arizona AirspeedUS2830293034273928342630530.5
3Weembi LilleFR2728302933273528302829529.5
HayaBusa opponents at the Clash of Champions: Weembi
The upcoming three indoor meets lift this duel to an even higher level.

This time, the complete current HayaBusa lineup consists of four reigning 4-way world champions, after the Belgians won with new member Jeroen "Bob" Nollet at the FAI Mondial 2016.

Both teams have known each other in competition for a long time. Roy Janssen, David and Andy Grauwels finished three points behind France in Maubeuge 2008.

Jeremie Rollett, Julien Degen, Mathieu and Guillaume Bernier missed the gold medal by one single point.

They met each other again two years later in Menzelinsk 2010 where France won the 4-way gold medals and HayaBusa came in 4th.

FAI outdoor gold medals at the Mondial 2016
Julien Degen, Mathieu and Guillaume Bernier still competed for France in 4-way at the FAI Mondial 2012 in Dubai, where Roy Janssen, David and Andy Grauwels won the silver medals with new member Dennis Praet, one single point behind Arizona Airspeed.

The same Belgian lineup then completed the gold medal mission in Prostejov 2014, where only Julien Degen and Mathieu Bernier competed for the new French 4-way team and missed a medal position.

Roy Janssen left HayaBusa after Prostejov and then joined forces with Julien Degen, Mathieu and Guillaume Bernier at the Clash of Champions, and the Weembi project became a serious plan. HayaBusa continued with Jeroen Nollet in the tail slot and won the next sets of FAI gold medals, first at the Mondial 2016, then at the Indoor World Cup - four points ahead of Weembi.

Roy Janssen explained during the NSL Talk how the Weembi signature lineup came together and how his own transition from Belgium to France happened. He also confirmed that his team could even qualify as the French national indoor 4-way team for this year's indoor world championships.

The French Indoor Nationals 2017 serve as the qualification event for the indoor world meet, and the current French national 4-way Open Class team will be seriously challenged by Weembi, with national coach Mathieu Bernier in the lineup. NMP PCH HayaBusa will attend the same event and add even more excitement to the situation.

The Wind Games will be a preview of the French Indoor Nationals, as the same three teams will travel to Empuriabrava in a few weeks. The World Challenge at the beginning of April completes this unique 3-meet showdown, before only two of the three teams will compete for medals at the FAI Indoor World Meet 2017 in Canada. NMP PCH HayaBusa's tickets are secured; the French ones are still for grabs...

comments / feedback
Previous Article | Next Article