supported by:
Vigil Logo


1665 Lexington Ave
Suite 102
Deland FL 32724
tel: (386) 801-0804

© 2003 - 2017
All Rights Reserved

supported by:
In Time Scoring

Valid HTML Valid CSS!

Did You Know...

... that James "Malibu" Klinge has won six consecutive times at SkyVenture New Hampshire?

AAA Class competitors at SkyVenture New Hampshire
posted Feb 2nd, 2014 - The storyline of the Sun Path Products NSL News switches back to indoor competition and the Indoor Skyfest at SkyVenture New Hampshire that was held for the 6th time on the last January weekend.

The annual duel between Shmeland and Minimal Compliance had received earlier attention on 26 January 2014 when members of both teams went surfing on Sunday morning. Now it is time to catch up with the athletic performance of both teams, and the new story includes the competition videos of this year's 10-round battle in the 12-foor flying chamber.

The leaderboard tells the story of the AAA Class rollercoaster at SkyVenture New Hampshire this year. The videos bring new evidence how experienced teams and competitors can master seemingly impossible blocks in a smaller flying chamber with impressive scores.

New Hampshire 2014Rd. 1Rd. 2Rd. 3Rd. 4Rd. 5Rd. 6Rd. 7Rd. 8Rd. 9Rd. 10TotalAvg
RankAAA Class9,P,K,G11,O,H,518,N,616,10,D17,14,1521,A,J,7C,E,Q,B,KF,22,L,M3,F,O,A18,M,P,JTotalAvg
2Minimal Compliance2923171719233423292523923.9
Shmeland 2014 with Ben Liston
Shmeland member James "Bu" Klinge knows how to master the 12-foot chamber at SkyVenture New Hampshire better than anybody else. He has attended the indoor competition since it was launched in 2009 and won the AAA Class competition every single time.

Bu Defiance (James Klinge, Ben Liston, Brian Stephens, John Silva) won without much competition and a 22.0 average in 2009. Centerline (17.9) and Ranch Fallout (17.3) finished far behind. It was too easy that year, and Bu Defiance came back in 2010 without the name giver. Former Mass Defiance team mates Ben Liston, Brian Stephens and John Silva replaced James Klinge with former Airspeed member Dennis Rook.

James Klinge had recruited his own new lineup, with Sally Hathaway, Ari Perelman and Scott Latinis, and now there was serious competition for the AAA Class title. Shmeland won by two points (21.3 - 21.1) in 2010.

8way team Dallas Rogue
Host Ben Liston changed the team name of his 2011 lineup to the original Mass Defiance, even though Jim Rees was still missing. Shmeland winner of 2010, Scott Latinis, took the open slot for Dennis Rook, while James Klinge had a new team member for Shmeland, as well. Rodney Cruce was the new Center Inside, and Shmeland won far ahead (22.0 - 20.4) of Mass Defiance.

Ben Liston took a break with the whole event in 2012 and then tried again with a new date, a new lineup and a new team name in January 2013. Minimal Compliance consisted of the same three Mass Defiance members (Ben Liston, Brian Stephens, John Silva) and Nick Grillet was the new Tail.

James Klinge has posted the highest average in the history of this event in 2011 and was able to return with exactly the same Shmeland lineup. The distance between both teams was back to the same two points as in 2010 (22.3 - 22.1) and the winner was the same.

USPA Nationals 2012Rd. 1Rd. 2Rd. 3Rd. 4Rd. 5Rd. 6Rd. 7Rd. 8Rd. 9Rd. 10TotalAvg
RankAAA Class3,B,K,HF,7,22O,4,D,13A,M,11,8N,P,G,19L,20,15,16,J6,21,1218,17,10E,C,Q,15TotalAvg
1Arizona Airspeed (US)3028242334222819203726526.5
2SDC Rhythm XP (US)3024232425212517193023823.8
3Evolution (CA)2420222122192616183322122.1
4Golden Knights (US)2322202224172116172620820.8
5DNR (US)2622192222172315172420720.7
DNR at the USPA Nationals 2012
This year's competition and outcome were almost completely identical with last year's event. The lineups and the team names were exactly the same, even though James Klinge's nickname had changed to "Malibu" in the meantime, and Shmeland won again by two points (24.1 - 23.9) with a new record average. It was Malibu's 6th consecutive victory at SkyVenture New Hampshire.

It has always been a very friendly competition between the two teams. In fact, the members of both teams have competed together in 8way since 2009, with Dallas Rogue and Amphibious Attack Tigers. They have also joined forces in different 4way lineups for outdoor meets.

James Klinge's most successful 4way team was DNR (Steve Johnson, James Klinge, Brian Stephens, Ben Liston, with Pat Walker on camera). DNR finished with a 20.7 average at the USPA Nationals 2012, which stands for the current unofficial US amateur record average. The 20.7 average could have been in contention for the world's best amateur team in 2012, as well. However, Thunder won this title with a 21.8 average at the World Cup 2012, and James Klinge is thinking of coming back with the DNR lineup of 2012 this year...

comments / feedback
Previous Article | Next Article
Get your weekly updates - Subscribe to the NSL News