supported by:
Vigil Logo


1665 Lexington Ave
Suite 102
Deland FL 32724
tel: (386) 801-0804

© 2003 - 2017
All Rights Reserved

supported by:
In Time Scoring

Valid HTML Valid CSS!

Did You Know...

... that Arizona Airspeed is not eligible for the Dubai Championship 2011?

Top teams at the 2nd Dubai Cup in January 2011
posted Jul 19th, 2011 - Yesterday's NSL News update from the CISM Championship in Brazil needed a correction. The teams in both 4-way events have actually 8-round meets, six qualification rounds, plus semifinals and finals. The Golden Knights are only the winner after the qualification rounds in the female category, and Fenix still has work to do in two more rounds to defend the bronze medal position.

In the meantime, this year's Dubai Championship has created some waves in the US 4-way community. The USPA Competition Committee decided at the July board meeting that Perris Fury and SDC Rhythm XP will be officially sanctioned to compete for the USA in Dubai in November/December this year.

The rules of the event allow each nation to send two teams to Dubai. Only one team is the official national team, which is eligible to win prize money. The winner in each of the two 4-way events (Open and Women) gets $20,000 and there are also cash prizes for the teams in 2nd and 3rd place ($15,000 - $10,000).

New Arizona Airspeed lineup of 2011
Perris Fury will be the official US national team according to the USPA decision. Fury placed 2nd at the USPA Nationals 2010 (25.5 - 24.1), 14 points behind the Arizona Airspeed 2010 lineup.

Both teams did not know that things would become complicated as of qualification rules when they regrouped at the end of the 2010 season. Fury member Josh Hall became a new Airspeed member, and only Mark Kirkby continued as a winning member of the 2010 lineup. He recruited three new Airspeed members, and Perris Fury replaced Josh Hall with Todd Hawkins.

Result was a very strong new Airspeed lineup, while Fury had a slow start into the 2011 season due to Uli Steuwe's shoulder surgery. In fact, Fury has attended only one meet this year, the Paraclete XP Indoor Skydiving Championships 2011, where John Hamilton flew the Tail slot for the missing Fury member.

January 8th, 2011Round 1Round 2Round 3Round 4Round 5Round 6Round 7Round 8TotalAvg
RankDubai ChampionshipP,17,18M,N,F,3H,A,6,BQ,1,C,144,10,1516,O,J,22K,2,E,11G,9,8TotalAvg
1Belgium NMP-PCH Hayabusa 24 34 30 23 19 22 24 2820425.5
2France Aerodyne Aerokart 24 33 33 20 18 25 23 2420025.0
3USA Arizona Airspeed 23 33 31 23 19 23 22 2519924.9
Five meets in 2011: Airspeed at the Paraclete Indoor Championship 2011
The new Airspeed lineup has attended five meets this year, three indoor and two outdoor competitions. There is no doubt that the posted scores have made Airspeed clearly the strongest US team of the 2011 season. However, the new lineup is still not eligible to represent the USA at the Dubai Championship 2011, according to the recent USPA decision.

Reason for that is the fact that the USPA qualification rules require that a team has 50% of the members in the lineup for the FAI/IPC event that is coming up. Airspeed has only one team member of the 2010 lineup, Fury has three, and SDC Rhythm XP continues with the same lineup as in 2010. Golden Knights Gold and Paraclete XP4, 3rd and 4th last year, did not plan to compete in Dubai this year.

Unfortunately, USPA cannot use the results of this year's national championships as the qualifyer for Dubai 2011, which would have made it very easy to select the best US teams. The USPA rules also say that "the meet from which the results will be used to select the team must be held at least 60 days prior to the World Championships at which the team will compete." The 4-way event at the USPA Nationals 2011 will be completed on November 1st, and the Dubai Championship 2011 begins on November 29th.

Same lineup in 2011 and off to Dubai: SDC Rhythm XP
First, the problem was not even there, as the USPA Nationals 2010 did not seem to be the qualifyer for Dubai 2011. The date of the Dubai Championships has been in January in the past years and was expected to be at that time once again in 2012. There would be plenty of time and more than 60 days between the USPA Nationals 2011 and the next Dubai Championship.

The Dubai date changed when FAI/IPC voted for the next World Championship of Formation Skydiving/Mondial 2012 in Dubai, scheduled for November/December 2012. The Dubai management decided to match the Mondial 2012 date and changed the event date of the next Dubai Championship from January 2012 to November/December 2011. Now Airspeed was in trouble with USPA's 60-day rule.

The USPA Competition Committee discussed the topic in length at the recent meeting and decided to apply the rules as they are. Perris Fury is the US national team for Dubai 2011, and SDC Rhythm XP is sanctioned as the second US team. Airspeed only has a chance to compete with the top contenders from France, Belgium and Russia for the 1st place and the $20,000 if one of the two teams decides not to compete in Dubai and if the other teams agrees to offer Airspeed the official status as the US national team.

3rd Dubai Cup

Who should represent the USA in Dubai this year?

Perris Fury
SDC Rhythm XP
Arizona Airspeed
 Current Results

comments / feedback
Previous Article | Next Article
Get your weekly updates - Subscribe to the NSL News